Always a lover of books, turning the pages of a novel takes me away to a story and a world that interests me. From stories of real life to adventures from the mind and beyond the words engulf me and take me away. I can’t wait for the next page I turn.

Big Letter Politics

Big letter politics is the divide that will prevent our governments from moving forward on the big issues of the day.  The post is loosely based on Anne Applebaum’s book Twilight of Democracy, the Seductive Lure of Authoritarianism, you can read the full post here:  https://redheartbluesign.wordpress.com/2021/02/07/big-letter-politics/

The Best Books I’ve read in 2020

2020 was a good year for me, in books. I finished 22 books and started my 23nd of the year in December, which will be the first I complete in 2021.  Most of the 22 books I’ve enjoyed, only one rubbed me the wrong way.  I wrote about it early 2020, here is the link.  That post also is about the best books I read in 2020.  I also decided to jump into a couple of series; Kathy Reichs’s ‘Bones’ series, I read the first  and the latest in the series of 27 books and Mark Burnell’s thrilling Stephanie Patrick four book series. To read the entire post click here: https://redheartbluesign.wordpress.com/2021/01/16/the-best-books-that-i-read-of-2020/

Beyond the Trees by Adam Shoalts (posted March 7, 2020)

Yep, I read what will be my best read in 2020.  So I can pack away my library card and put away all the books I am planning on reading this year just because none of them will be any better.  I should also add in the few weeks of this year I have also read what will most likely be my worst read of the year.   To read the rest of this review please click here https://wordpress.com/block-editor/post/redheartbluesign.wordpress.com/3019

Open Look by Jay Triano (Posted April 30, 2019)

The NBA playoffs are in full swing; the Toronto Raptors are in the second round and fans are hoping for a championship come June. Though this book was published November of 2018, the NBA playoffs are as good a time as ever to tell Jay Triano’s story and his rise through in the world of basketball, his dreams of playing for Canada’s Nationals team, winning championships and coaching in the NBA.

To read the rest of this review please click here: https://wordpress.com/block-editor/post/redheartbluesign.wordpress.com/2856


The Gatekeepers:  How the White House Chiefs of Staff define every Presidency by Chris Whipple.  (Posted January 20, 2019)

Since the creation of the position of “White House Chief of Staff” in 1946, thirty-three men have had the ear of the President.  In the years since there has only been one extended period where a President did not have a ‘Chief’,  for 909 days President Carter chose to not name a Chief of Staff (Cos), or rather HE acted as his own chief.  For over 60% of his presidency, because of his decision, Jimmy Carter could not focus 100% on his job as he was doing a job that should have gone to someone else. Pundits feel he didn’t get it right until the last 7 months of his term, too late to avoid defeat  to Ronald Reagan in 1980.

To read the rest of the review click on this link: https://redheartbluesign.wordpress.com/2019/01/20/the-gatekeepers.

How the Scots Invented Canada by Ken McGoogan (Posted April 7, 2019)

April 6th is Tartan Day in Canada, how appropriate that I sit and write a few words about a book I first spotted in the office of a Senator when I toured the new Senate building a few weeks back.

To read the rest of the review click on this link: https://wordpress.com/block-editor/post/redheartbluesign.wordpress.com/2850 

The Wayfinders by Wade Davis (Posted April 22, 2018)

There is a saying, ‘a little knowledge can be a dangerous thing’, it is derived from English poet Alexander Pope’s poem “A Little Learning”.  The earliest known printing of the poem is 1709. For the full poem click here: https://www.poetsgraves.co.uk/Classic%20Poems/Pope/a_little_learning.htm.  I think of this after reading the CBC Massey Lectures, a collection of five lectures entitled “The Wayfinders” by Canadian Anthropologist and explorer-in-residence of National Geographic Wade Davis.  Click here to read the full review: https://redheartbluesign.wordpress.com/2018/04/22/ancient-wisdom-and-knowledge-is-it-forever-lost

Saving Capitalism by Robert B Reich, The Darkest Hour by Anthony McCarten and The Wayfinders bt Wade Davis (Posted April 15, 2019)

I recently took a week to relax and catch up on some books that had been awaiting my attention.  In this edition of #RedHeartBlueSign I present three short reviews of those books.  The books reviewed are Saving Capitalism by Robert B. Reich; The Darkest Hour written by Anthony   and The Wayfinders by Wade Davis. Tread the full post of these three mini reviews click here: https://redheartbluesign.wordpress.com/2018/04/15/3-books-3-reviews  

On the House by Rob Walsh (Posted January 14, 2018)

In a year of living politically, it challenges me to read more so I know and understand more. The first challenge was to learn about what my political reality really is. As a ‘staffer’ on Parliament Hill I had knowledge of the happening of the activities of how Parliament Hill “works. What I needed was an understanding of why it works the way it does and the historical and constitutional contexts that Canada is governed by.

To read the rest of the review click here: https://redheartbluesign.wordpress.com/2018/01/14/on-the-house-by-rob-walsh

No is not enough by Naomi Klein (Posted January 20, 2018)

The Leap Manifesto brought down a federal NDP leader and left the same party with a void in its leadership until late 2017. Following the 2015 Canadian election at the post election leadership review convention of the New Democratic Party (NDP) the membership passed a motion to adopt the Leap Manifesto as policy.  The full review is right here: https://redheartbluesign.wordpress.com/2018/01/20/naomi-klein-the-leap-manifesto-and-de-trumping